MINUTES Virtual Board of Directors' Meeting MAY 18, 2022

1. The meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m. by the Chairperson of the Board, Mr. William Fonseca. The following were present:

Board of Directors:

Mr. William Fonseca, East Longmeadow

Ms. Lisa Murray, Hampden-Wilbraham Regional

Ms. Mary Keane, Longmeadow Mr. Jeffrey Laing, Ludlow

Ms. Erika Emmelmann, Southwick-Tolland-Granville Regional

Ms. Diana Coyne, West Springfield

Collaborative:

Mr. Roland Joyal, Jr., Executive Director Ms. Anna Bishop, Director of Finance

Ms. Erin Duchesne, Director of Municipal Reimbursement

Ms. Karina Monroe, Director of Curriculum

- 2. A public forum was offered. There were no comments from the public.
- 3. Mr. Joyal introduced Ms. Duchesne and Ms. Monroe who gave a brief update on their department to the Board.
- 4. Ms. Coyne moved to approve this evening's consent calendar as presented. Ms. Murray seconded. On a roll call vote, the following voted YES: Ms. Keane, Mr. Laing, Ms. Murray, Ms. Emmelmann, and Ms. Coyne. Mr. Fonseca abstained. Motion carries 5:0:1.
- 5. Mr. Fonseca reviewed the process for the Board's yearly evaluation of the executive director. He also reported that he will not run for re-election for the East Longmeadow School Committee and therefore, will not be serving on this Board for the new fiscal year. Board members should consider who may want to fill his role as Chair as new officers will be elected at the next meeting.
- 6. A. Mr. Joyal reported that he will no longer serve as MOEC Regional Liaison due to the fact that he has been nominated to serve on the MOEC Executive Board as Secretary for FY23 and 24.
 - B.&C. Karina Monroe was recognized for her efforts by participating in the DESE Educator Preparation Review Team as well as securing grant funding for a summer development program.

LOWER PIONEER VALLEY EDUCATIONAL COLLABORATIVE
174 BRUSH HILL AVENUE, WEST SPRINGFIELD, MA 01089 PHONE 413-735-2200 FAX 413-735-2280

BY LIEVE, COLLABORATIVE BOARD OF DIRLCTORS

LPVEC MINUTES/BOARD OF DIRECTORS MAY 18, 2022 **PAGE TWO**

D. Ms. Emmelmann moved to authorize Anthony Maspo and Ann Kimball to participate in the School Nutrition Association National Conference held in Orlando, Florida, July 9 through 13, 2022 as presented. Mr. Laing seconded. On a roll call vote, the following voted YES: Ms. Keane, Ms. Murray, Ms. Emmelmann, Ms. Coyne, Mr. Laing, and Mr. Fonseca. Approved unanimously.

Ms. Emmelmann moved to authorize Anna Bishop to participate in the ASBO International Annual Conference held in Portland, Oregon, September 13 through 18, 2022 as presented. Mr. Laing seconded. On a roll call vote, the following voted YES: Ms. Keane, Ms. Murray, Ms. Emmelmann, Ms. Coyne, Mr. Laing, and Mr. Fonseca. Approved unanimously.

- E. Mr. Joyal reported that he is finishing his second year of participation in the three-year New Superintendents Induction Program. Part of the program included identifying key strengths, challenges, and developing and strengthening working relationships with stakeholders and he reviewed the three areas he where he will begin to implement an improvement strategy to develop strategic objectives and core values which will be presented next fall.
- F. Ms. Bishop updated the group on the Corporation's acquisition of property in Agawam to be used for transportation services.

Ms. Coyne left the meeting at 7:16 p.m.

7. Ms. Bishop reviewed current revenues and expenditures noting nothing extraordinary to Α. report. Ms. Bishop noted that the Collaborative will be transitioning to a new treasurer for July 1 who will give semi-annual reports to the Board as part of the Collaborative's oversight.

At 7:24 p.m., Ms. Murray moved to enter into executive session to discuss contract negotiations with nonunion personnel and to return to open session at its conclusion for the purpose of adjournment. Mr. Laing seconded. On a roll call vote, the following voted YES: Ms. Keane, Ms. Murray, Ms. Emmelmann, Mr. Laing, and Mr. Fonseca.

Open Session resumed at 7:29 p.m. and Ms. Emmelmann moved to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Laing seconded. On a roll call vote, the following voted YES: Ms. Keane, Ms. Murray, Ms. Emmelmann, Mr. Laing, and Mr. Fonseca. Approved unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 7:30 p.m.