Welcome to the LPVEC!

174 Brush Hill Avenue
West Springfield, MA 01089
Phone: 413-735-2200
Fax: 413-735-2280

The Lower Pioneer Valley Educational Collaborative (LPVEC), organized in 1974, is a group of seven school districts legally bound in a collaborative governance structure under the provisions of Chapter 40, Section 4E, and Chapter 797 of the General Laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.The member school districts are:  Agawam, East Longmeadow, Hampden-Wilbraham Regional, Longmeadow, Ludlow, Southwick-Tolland-Granville Regional, and West Springfield. 

The LPVEC is governed by a Board of Directors (School Committee) comprised of one representative from each of the member school committees.  The Collaborative’s current budget is approximately $20 million and it employs approximately 375 staff.

The primary purpose of the LPVEC is to expand the quality of education in the member school districts.  Basic to the Collaborative's efforts is the premise that there are numerous educational services which can be provided more effectively and efficiently by pooling the resources and students from several school districts.  Since March of 1975, the LPVEC has been able to substantially broaden the quantity and quality of educational programs and services available within the participating school districts.

The Lower Pioneer Valley Educational Collaborative, while the second largest of the Massachusetts educational collaboratives, is the most multi-purpose.  It conducts a greater variety of education-related programs and services than do other collaboratives.  While the foundation of the LPVEC remains the special education and vocational-technical education programs, the Collaborative is dedicated to assisting its member school districts in the development and operation of both efficient and cost-effective education-related services.